The Saining pt 2

Bealtuinn has always an extremely hectic time for me… Every year no matter how calm April seems, there is as storm brewing, and as soon as May hits – KABOOM!

Bealtuinn is a time of change… Most of my major moves (apart from moving from the UK to the States which was in Feb) have been within the season of Bealtuinn. I moved to Glasgow from London in Bealtuinn, then the following year I moved back to London, and then back to Glasgow once again for the last time, before Bealtuinn was up. We moved into our first proper family home this year within Bealtuinn. The first time I saw Connor was during Bealtuinn, I cried when that big head of his came into view on the monitor. The first time Cernunnos made himself known to me was within Bealtuinn, which was very unexpected, especially since Bealtuinn was never celebrated in Gaul….

Under the cover of darkness...

I held my personal ritual on the banks on the Scioto, and the moot I organize went well. Not as well as I’d hoped, due to bitchiness and lack of tolerance on part of a few, but those who brought the mood down left early. I enjoyed myself immensely with the small group that stayed; We talked until after dark, under the cover of trees… A Wiccan and her husband, a Ceremonial Mage of the Golden Dawn and a Traditional Witch (with my hubby and our Sprogling), who’da thought we could all get along so well?!…

So the Saining last Wednesday was beautiful! I obviously called on the help of Cernunnos, I mean a blessing isn’t a proper blessing without ones Patron present doing the blessing. I also enlisted the help of Nantosuelta, another Gaulish deity (and another psychopomp) that has held my fascination for a wee while now. Cernunnos seemed happy with my agreement in including her. Her calm, serene energies we’re a complete contrast to what Cernunnos brought to the table; They complemented each-other so well…

At Cernunnos’ urging I will be delving deeper into my study of Nantosuelta (and Gaulish worship), and I am to honour her at her shrine set up in my kitchen…

The ebb and flow of relationships with the Gods…

So back the the Saining… I started in a way traditional to my Scottish Gaelic roots, and walked around the house from room to room in a sunwise direction with my bell and candle, chanting as I went, opening the windows wide…

Sarah's smudge and my incense...

I then got to washing the windowsils, doorways and kitchen floor with one of my washes. This wash was a simple concoction made up in the kitchen sink. Boiling water poured over Rosemary, with a few drops of the Protection Tincture I made a while back, a splash of Lightening Water, my blood, Sea Salt, Lemon essential oil. And then I lit the smudge that Sarah, Witch of Forest Grove had handmade for me from wildcrafted Juniper, and once again there was more chanting and singing, and parading around the house sunwise…

This was also a time for me to ‘mark my area’ as it were, my blood and sweat mingled with the wash water, herbs and oils…

I then set my Blessing incense to smolder on the white hot charcoal, the tendrils of sweet smoke wafting around me, room to room to room, reciting a blessing and asking Cernunnos and Nantosuelta to do their business… ;-p

We finished by breaking bread, and divining… And I added an offering of incense for Cernunnos and Nantosuleta to the charcoal…

I had brought a loaf and a bottle of wine with me, for Cernunnos and I to share a meal… The Witchs’ housle… We invited Nantosuelta to join us… A rosemary plant will be planted where I left the offering of bread and wine, by the front door…

Offerings of bread, wine and incense...

So, now Baeltuinn is over, and we are just about settling into our new home, my mind turns to England! Only 15 more days left until we fly back… We will be perfoming Connor’s Saining at Chalice Well, in Glastonbury the weekend of Summer Solstice and the Wolf & I will be renewing our vows in the presence of family…

I can hardly wait…!

3 responses to “The Saining pt 2

  1. It sounds like you had a beautiful Bealtuinn and Saining. Thanks for sharing it with us! I find it interesting that Cernunnos came to you during Bealtuinn. My own relationship with him has seriously intensified during the past few weeks. I also think it’s great that your learning more about Gaulish worship. That’s an area I would love to learn more about, but can find very little info about. Are you finding the ADF of any help in that area? Best wishes to you and your family in your new home!

    –Rick

  2. Aye, the research is slow going! To be totally honest, I haven’t really had time to do much in the way of ADF. But their local grove, The Three Cranes, is focused mainly on Gaulish deities, so once I’m back from England I’ll be meting up with them, and Michael J. Dangler emailed me a few books he would recommend – I’ll forward you his email! ;-p

  3. Pingback: Cernunnos, The Cailleach and the End… « Crooked & Hidden Ways

Leave a Reply

