WitchCraft Museum at Boscastle

I’m still catching up on posting about our trip to England. Yes, I know I’m a bloody lazy Witch and should sort myself out! But here’s something I’ve been promising for a while now…

While we were visiting home the Wolf & Sprogling, my brother, his girlfriend and I took a wee trip down to Cornwall, we were staying at Marazion, in a hotel a stones throw from the beach and directly opposite St. Michael’s Mound (You can read about my Graveyard Dirt collecting antics over here)

But on our way down we decided that we wanted to make a little detour, so we dropped off as Boscastle first.

A few years ago, I was an active member of a certain Witchcraft Organisation based in England, and had helped to raise money for the Museum of Witchcraft in Boscastle after being completely flooded out in 2004.  I had never been, but as it’s the worlds largest collection of Witchcraft paraphernalia under one roof, I wanted to do my part in seeing it back up on it’s feet so I could visit one day! And here we were, and what a job they have done at completely renovating the place! You can read more on their renovations HERE.

The first Museum of Witchcraft site was opened in Castletown on the Isle of Man in 1951 by Cecil Williamson. A West Country man by birth, his father was a military officer oft posted overseas, and the young Cecil was taken care of by a nanny or sent to stay with relatives. His uncle was the vicar of North Bovey in Devon at the time, and Cecil would spend his holidays with him. It was there that Cecil had his first brush with Witchcraft after apparently intervening to stop some locals yahoos from persecuting a Witch.

Cecils education in all things magical continued as he met a Wise Woman who lived on his school ground in Norfolk, and later in Rhodesia, South Africa, where he went to grow tobacco. Whilst there he noticed how similar the ways and techniques of the African witchdoctors were to traditional English Witches.

It was in London in 1946 that Cecil first met Gerald Gardner. They were to become fast friends and eventually business partners They opened at original site of the Museum of Witchcraft at the Witches Mill on the Isle of Man, but the two friends were very different in their approaches. Gardner courted publicity and wanted to woo the public with sensational displays whereas Cecil wanted to concentrate more of the way of the ‘Wayside Witch’ and folk magic, so the relationship ended with much bitterness.

After moving the Museum to England, firstly to Windor, and then to the village of Bourton-on-the-Water in the Cotswolds were he and his museum were recieved in open hate, it was time to up sticks gain and this time he choose to move back home to the West Country.

The museum was relocated to Boscastle in 1961, where it has remained until this day, nestled within the countryside in this beautiful, stunning village and fishing port on the north coast of Cornwall.

Graham was on the door that day, so after explaining that I’d be writing for my blog, and swapping emails, he allowed me to take photos.

The walk-through leads you around the museum from exhibitions on the persecution, to herbalism and charms…

I particulary fell in love with the snakes in bottles, as I love to use snake bits ‘n’ pieces in  oils, insence, offerings, etc msyelf.  Upstairs had a fantastic collection of mandrake which had been donated to the Museum of Witchcraft. Oh and not forgetting the bloody huge collection of phallic talismans!

I adored the ‘Protection’ and ‘Cursing’ sections, as you knew I would! And then nearly fell head over heals in lust with a few statues! I twirled ideas around in my head about how I could get the fucking gorgeous Cernunnos statue out the door with me, let along the full size Baphomet!

I died!

I died a happy, orgasmic Witchy death!

But as we came back downstairs and got to the exhibitions on the ‘famous faces’ of Witchcraft, only the usual suspects where featured…

I mean whatever happened to a little section on Roy Bowers (aka Robert Cochrane)…

It wouldn’t have hurt, would it?

All in all I had a great time there though…

2 responses to “WitchCraft Museum at Boscastle

  1. Interesting and informative piece, enjoyable reading (as always)
    Thank You !
    F.F.F
    Tubals Forge

Leave a Reply

