Offerings for the Cailleach…

So, I was asked by Jay to share a little more about a statue I recently posted a photo of…

The statue itself is actually a ‘Pleurant’, modeled on those that adorn the Chartreuse de Champmol, but when I look at this, I see a Veiled Woman cloaked against the cold… This is why I use it as a place to leave my offerings for the Cailleach… The original plan was to give it a wash of blue paint and varnish it against Winter elements, but when it arrived I thought it was perfect the way it was…

It moves around a bit, either at the front or the back of the house, depending on a handful of reasons… Usually it’s placed where it is most sheltered from the cold…

Before it is where I stand, sit, kneel in the snow and share a  Scotch, and some food with The Old Woman… Before it I leave my offerings…

Offerings of mostly Whisky and food! The old woman is ravenous and loves a wee dram when it snows, or is extremely cold out (which here in Ohio from this time of year, will be most nights)… I have joked in the past about putting aside an ‘Old Woman Booze Fund’; but all jokes aside, we really do fly through Whisky in this house like it’s going out of fashion..!

Offering I leave for the Cailleach are numerous… And can include portions of a meal (sometimes cooked, sometimes uncooked), usually those of red meat and root vegtables, soups are made for Her, bread is baked for Her, and around this time of year I always bake with Her in mind… This year she seems to have a bit of a sweet tooth… What with the apple turnovers last week, and the apple and cinnamon cake/loaf this week…

I collect bits ‘n’ pieces thought out the Spring and Summer, like the rose petals in the photo, to bring Her a glimpse of what She has missed throughout the warmer months… I collect sticks for Her to feed her fire during the cold… Pieces of wood, fragrant cones and seed pods that once added to Her fire will not only give Her warmth, but bring their perfumes too…

Incense is made for Her… I sometime use Her tree, the Yew, portioned precisely, and used with extreme care… Offerings bowls are crafted for Her with my own hands… Votive offerings are left in rocky crevices, at watery places…

Sometimes booze, raw meat and bones… Rowan berries have been collected for Her… Graveyard berries given… Infused alcohol…

I make things for Her… I’m currently going to be starting work on making ‘The Cailleach’s Hammer’ to be used in working with Her alone, I’ll be using the time I spend making it as a devotion to Her…

I’ve even assigned the Cailleach Her own feast day, which I’ll be posting about soon…

 

9 responses to “Offerings for the Cailleach…

  1. Thank you! She is absolutely lovely. I can see why you are devoted to her.

  2. Thanks for posting about this. I’ve been really interested in Cailleach myself, and I find it interesting to see how different (and yet similar!) people give honour to Her.

  3. I’m just getting to know her myself; this has been helpful.

  4. I was awed by the statue… it’s amazing and appropriate! Thank you for sharing about your relationship with An Cailleach 🙂

  5. Parasitikrage

    I would appreciate it if you could please tell me where you located the veiled one statue. Thank you sooo much.

Leave a Reply

