The Horned God and the Jackdaw…

So, those that have been playing along at home, will know that some time back I found myself adopting the beginnings of my own Corvus Family. Over the last couple of months, we’ve grown quite close. All starting that pretty fucking magic night that I called them home to me, in a pretty intense journey. One which left me crawling up the stairs, once they had been fed, watered and made accustomed to their new surroundings, and straight into my bed next to my snoring husband.

Over a series of nights they were ‘reddened’ (if you look ever so closely you can see the little red dot on the jackdaws skull), and we set about forging relationships with each other. They are regularly given offerings, fed and watered, and ‘talked to’… They like to banter…

My Carrion Crow was claimed by the Cailleach this Winter. And my inseparable pair – My Rook and Hooded Crow – have banded together in collaboration. I will not have the pleasure or one’s company without the other. They seem to ‘speak‘ with the same voice.

Which leaves my little Jackdaw.

Mr. Jackdaw almost immediately attached himself to Cernunnos… So a little home was made for him at the base of my Cernunnos statue, were he receives his gifts and offerings…

When my Jackdaw comes a-pecking, I know that Cernunnos isn’t far behind. I’ve come to recognise the shrill call of the Jackdaw – That high-pitched, metallic  chyak-chyak – as His harbinger, almost as much as the smell that lingers when He is near. The smell of damp woodland, the coldness of the damp soil beneath the leafy floor. The musky smell of sex. A whiff of camphorous conifers. A heady, masculine aroma that I can never quiet put my finger on. And the undeniable smell of musty death and decay…

It reminds me of days spend whiling away the hours watching the herds of deer in Richmond Park, in London. The occasional Jackdaw settling down onto their backs to groom and rid them of ticks. It’s an harmonious relationship between the two, and Cernunnos seems happy enough that Mr. Jackdaw has become His herald…

Their trickster natures are a pretty much matched in each other, I’m always kept on my feet when they are both around…

11 responses to “The Horned God and the Jackdaw…

  1. Beautiful! btw, I love your statue!

    More upg power, I’ve always associated Cernnunos with Corvids though I’ve never seen anything in lore to suggest that. Glad I’m not the only one. 😉 Just seems like they would be one his his messengers.

  2. I’ve always associated Cernunnos with Corvids too… Being trickers, messengers, guides, psychopomps, etc…

    I was pretty surprised by my little Jackdaw though, I just thought one of it’s bigger cousins would have taken it’s place. But what the Jackdaw lacks in size, he certainly makes up for in personality. 😉 I’ve always loved Jackdaws, they are an especially magic and sacred bird to me. Even more so now 🙂

  3. You have a really beautiful relationship with Horned God through nature! I have a wall of English ivy running across my yard that seems to be a link between he and I (animals and me have never been extremely close lol), sometimes I see his face in it and hear laughter in the rustle of the leaves…. I think a Jackdaw would have been a lot cooler lol!

  4. Coming from England myself, I just love English Ivy…

    It’s an extremely sacred and enchanting plant, that has had it’s vines wrapped around my heart for quite some time. 🙂 I’ll have to show you some photos of a ‘secret’ overgrown, walled church garden that’s close by to where I used to live. It had been completely reclaimed by Ivy after the church was no longer in use and fell into ruins…

    Reclaimed by Ivy, Bindweed, Burdock, Asphodel, Dark Mullien, Lupine and Larkspur, congregated around a big ol’ Yew, it’s truly one of my favourite places to be…

  5. Oh, man! This has got my head bubbling.

    I wonder, is this why the world doesn’t speak like it used to? Because so few witches are waking the dead, speaking to animals, calling to the unborn? Powerful, important, work you’re doing.

  6. Love, you made me blush… You have no idea how much I appreciate your words ;-p

    I do indeed think that the world doesn’t feel and speak like it used to of old, we’ve progressed so far that most don’t think they have anything to learn from the dead, from animals, from that dark void ‘before & beyond’ that calls so hauntingly to so few of us… But it’s there for everyone, if we’d all only have the eyes to see, and the ears to hear it’s song X X

  7. I’ve always associated Cernunnos with corvids as well! And copper …

  8. Aye, I totally agree with you on the copper, love…!

    Thanks for posting the link by the way ;-p *hugs*

  9. Pingback: A’bhiolair uain… | Crooked & Hidden Ways

  10. Pingback: Reddening the Bones… | Crooked & Hidden Ways

Leave a Reply

