Dropping-wells of fire, rich in streaming gold…


One of the earliest memories I have of the Laburnum tree is of staring out of my parent’s bedroom window,  watching the beautifully long and delicate racemes of bright yellow flowers, swaying in the breeze.

There were many Laburnum trees growing in the neighbourhood when I was young. I can remember my sadness as they were all mercilessly cut down, as they posed a threat to the local children.

It is said that the Laburnum and Lilac would mourn, if a tree of like kind was cut down in their vicinity, by not blooming the next year. But there were no more Laburnum to watch for blooms nearby, they were all gone. I can remember laying flowers on the stumps that were left behind.

Every part of this tree is poisonous you see, and the seeds that develop after flowering are particularly so. I was fascinated by them, awed by their beauty, but I would always keep a safe distance from them. My mother  warned me how poisonous they were, especially since I loved to snack on freshly shucked peas straight from the pod, and the seed pods of the Tree of Golden Rain are very similar.

The Laburnum were introduced to the UK  in Elizabethan times from the mountains of Southern Europe and has proved hardy, decorative and useful ever since. It’s heartwood is the most gorgeous shade of deep olive brown, surrounded by contrasting creamy-yellow sapwood. It is ideal for turning, and was once widely used for bagpipe parts.

If you look closely at the flowers and their fresh green, clover like foliage you can see that this stunning tree is actually part of  the pea family, which makes the Laburnum a close relative to Scotch Broom.

Like it’s cousin, Broom, it is beloved of Bees,  extremely protective and great for purification. Hares and deer can feed on parts of this tree without any issues at all, and because of this the plant is believed to have magic properties in some regions.

It is a gateway tree. It challenges you. It reminds us that beauty can also be deadly.

Recently, I have been having a lot of dreams in which it features pretty heavily.

I look forward to what it has to teach me…

6 responses to “Dropping-wells of fire, rich in streaming gold…

  1. something that beautiful must have beautiful messages to deliver

  2. That is a beautiful tree. I never knew such a thing existed. Thank you for sharing this!

  3. Wow ! I didn’t that little piece of bagpiping history ! Neat. Thanks. :o)

  4. There are lots of hedgerows in West Wales mostly containing laburnum, a spectacular sight in summer. Apparently seedsmen in the late 19th and early 2oth century persuaded farmers that they should plant them as they would also provide animal food! In spite of their poisonous nature most are still there around fields with sheep and cattle. People don’t seem as worried by as it as by ragwort which grows in the hedges and is also potentially poisonous. The same poison (cytisine) is also in the similarly yellow gorse, though not I think in such high quantities.

  5. Hi Just found your blog. Its really beautiful and inspiring. I will be back to raed more (-: love it

Leave a Reply

